Transitions tournament

Jordan Patton, Staff Writer

               The Transitions Championship Tournament includes nearly 70 out of the top 100 players on the 2010 PGA Tour. They are expected to play the Copperhead in March 14-20, 2011 in Palm Harbor.

               The year the Transition Championship is pleased to announce the acceptance of exemptions by three of the most exciting players on the European Tour, Martin Kaymer, Alvaro Quiros, and Matteo Manassero. Other players that are going to be in the tournament as well include Jon Daly, Robert Allenby, Ricky Barnes, and Michael Clarck II. Jim Furyk is the defending champion of this tournament that quietly has attracted one of the stronger fields leading to the Masters. The Transition Tournament was founded in 2000. It was originally known as the Tampa Bay Classic.

              The East Lake girl’s golf team is able to work the tournament. They are required to help the pros find their places, get them food or drinks if needed, have their name plates ready, supply practice golf balls, and clean after the men are finished warming up. It’s an all day thing. “We get up by six so we can be at the golf course by seven and we usually don’t leave till four or five in the afternoon,” said senior Hannah Espy.