A Stanley Cup win during the COVID pandemic

The Lightning win their first Stanley Cup in 16 years.

The Lightning win their first Stanley Cup in 16 years.

Tyler Cosier, Staff Writer

The Tampa Bay Lightning won the Stanley Cup in six games against the Dallas Stars. It is their first Cup win since 2004.

The regular season for the Lightning was canceled on March 12. Months later, on May 26, the NHL announced that 24 teams would advance to the special playoff tournament. 12 teams per conference played by their seeding based on their points percentage at the time the regular season was canceled. The top four teams in each conference played in a separate round robin to determine the seeding in the first round. The games were played with regular season overtime and shootout rules.

The Blue Jackets swept the Lightning in four games last year. The reason why the Lightning were swept was because they weren’t ready to play. The Lightning defeated the Blue Jackets in five games this year. In game one, with the match tied at two, the teams headed into overtime. At 10:27 of the fifth overtime, Lightning forward Brayden Point ended the game with assists from Nikita Kucherov and Mikhail Sergachev. It was nearly six hours after its start. It was the fourth-longest game in NHL history at 90:27 of extra time. In game three, Brayden Point continued his point streak scoring the second goal of a 3-2 Lightning victory. Barclay Goodrow and Yanni Gourde both scored and provided an assist for the Lightning in game four, who defeated the Blue Jackets 2-1. In game five, at 5:12 of the first overtime, Point’s backhanded shot over Korpisalo ended the series, and sending them to the Second Round.

The Lightning defeated the Bruins in five games. In game two, Ondrej Palat scored the OT winning goal for Tampa Bay, tying the series 1-1 in a 4-3 victory. Palat scored twice for the Lightning in game four, defeating the Bruins 3-1. In game five, Victor Hedman ended the series 14:10 into double-overtime for the Lightning, defeating the Bruins 3-2 and advancing to the Eastern Conference Finals.

The Lightning defeated the lslanders in six games. In game one, Lightning forwards Brayden Point and Nikita Kucherov both had five points in 8-2 rout. In game two, Kucherov scored the game-winning goal with nine seconds remaining in the game to give the Lightning a 2-1 victory. In the third game, Brock Nelson’s goal with 3:25 left put the lslanders ahead. In game five, Jordan Eberle scored at 12:30 of double overtime to win the game 2-1 and extending the series to game six. Anthony Cirelli’s goal at 13:18 of the first overtime period in game six gave the Lightning a 2-1 victory sending Tampa Bay to the Stanley Cup Finals.

The Lightning defeated the Stars in six games to win the Cup. In game two, the Lightning struck three times in the first period. Twice on the power-play, Victor Hedman and Nikita Kucherov set up both goal-scorers. In game three, Steven Stamkos scored his first and only goal of the playoffs. In game six, Brayden Point and Blake Coleman scored to help the Lightning win the Stanley Cup.